I didn’t write a post yesterday. And I didn’t exercise.

I was too busy planning to become a lesbian (what? certain segments of the population tell me I can totally choose to become a lesbian if I want to) and leave my husband for a woman I just met.

Her name is Kayleigh. I’m not sure what her last name is, I don’t know much about her and I don’t really care. All I need to know is that she gives the most amazing massages and I love her.

Okay, okay. It’s possible this is a bit extreme.

Maybe the hubby would be open to me having a sister-wife instead.

If you’ve ever had a really good massage, you’ll know what I’m talking about. A talented massage therapist can truly work miracles and cause you, if only temporarily, to consider an alternate lifestyle.

I don’t get massages often. Certainly not on a regular basis. Usually, it’s only when I have a knot or catch in my back that I can’t work out myself, which was the case yesterday.

After I reluctantly left Kayleigh’s table, I started wondering WHY I don’t get a massage more often. I felt relaxed and the constant shoulder soreness I get from sitting at a computer all day was pretty much gone.

I think it’s because it feels so decadent. But it’s really not. Getting a massage on a regular basis is actually good for you.

According to the Mayo Clinic:

Massage is generally considered part of complementary and alternative medicine. It’s increasingly being offered along with standard treatment for a wide range of medical conditions and situations.While more research is needed to confirm the benefits of massage, some studies have found massage helpful for:

  • Stress relief
  • Managing anxiety and depression
  • Pain
  • Stiffness
  • Blood pressure control
  • Infant growth
  • Sports-related injuries
  • Boosting immunity
  • Cancer treatment

If the Mayo Clinic says it’s good for you, who am I to argue?

But still, it’s hard to believe. I mean, face it, most things that are good for you don’t feel all that great at the time.

But not massage. It’s relaxing. It’s comforting. It’s pampering. It relieves stress. It alleviates pain. It gives you a sense of well-being.

And sometimes, it makes polygamy seem like not such a crazy idea.

********

Goal: Exercise 5 days this week

Days toward goal: 3

Today’s Workout: Cathe Friedrich’s “Gym Style Back, Shoulders and Biceps” DVD

